top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Henshaw

[15/03/2022] Creating a Multiplayer System

Photon Networking Launcher Script:

This script is the main script used for my networking system. It was created using Photon Engine and allows players to create and join rooms (lobbies). As well as this it displays users in each room and gives the player that created the room host privileges.


This script works with many other scripts in my game which handles friends (with status checks displaying if they are online), invites, spawning the players and more.

If you would like to see all of the Photon code used in this game click here.


Playfab Login Script:

Playfab is used for account creation. This script is used to allow players to create their own accounts that will save their data allowing them to create a username, gain levels, cosmetics and more. It also allows us to save data about the players friends and detects if they are online using our status script.

If you would like to see all of the Playfab code used in this game click here.


Evaluation:

I used two different services in order to create my multiplayer system. The reason I decided to combine these two services was due to some features we wanted to include in this game. We knew that we wanted to include a friend/invite system and we also wanted to include usernames. These features are not available through Photon PUN by default. This meant in order to include these features I would need to include a separate third party system/service. The main reason I decided to use PlayFab as my third party system was mainly because I've had experience using it in the past. This meant it would be easier for me to implement with Photon as I have some knowledge of how it works already. Due to Photon being used by many game developers there was many sources I was able to use. This ranged from the Photon forums and also YouTube. These sources made the implementation of this system very fast and easy with no real challenges.

Comments


bottom of page