top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Henshaw

[03/05/2022] Movement Shooter Devlog | Week 4-6 | A Recap...



[Intro] - James

Hey, welcome back to the devlog of our final extended project for the last year of college. We’ve missed the last couple uploads so hopefully this video will allow us to cover everything we’ve created since the last video.


[Overview] - Oscar

Hi again, over the past few weeks I have been working on the menu music. I made it in a few styles and the best one was chosen. I am now working on the rest of the music including but not limited to; the match start song, the match ending song and two variations of post-game for victory and defeat. I will finish these and go over them again to make sure they are perfect. Cheers.


[Overview] - Dan

Since the last devlog, I haven’t really got much work done. This is due to catching Covid-19 on the first day of our half-term. I felt pretty Ill and was unable to look at my monitor without getting a huge migraine. I have been working on the gun system and have managed to get shooting weapons which can damage and kill players. I have also added blood splatter on the screen when the player has taken damage. As well as this I have added a scoreboard which allows the players to keep track of their kills and deaths. The scoreboard is still a work in progress and has a couple of bugs. For example, when a player leaves the game they stay on the scoreboard. Also when joining a game everyone else on the scoreboard stays at zero kills and deaths. Once these problems are fixed I will be moving on to weapon pickups.


Weapon pickups are a big thing we wanted to include in our game. In a single-player game, weapon pickups are quite easy. However, our game is multiplayer which means the weapon they are holding as well as animations need to be synced over the network.


Before our deadline, I hope to include hitmakers, sound effects, and visual effects in the project as well as a win event, a lose event and a leaderboard displaying most Kills, most Deaths and Highest K/D.


[Overview] - James

Recently I’ve been putting a focus into finishing creating every weapon we wanted when we made our plan. This is 15 completely unique weapons with their own custom textures, all kept as close to my limit of 500 triangles as possible. The weapons are all modelled in Blender and I used Photoshop to create the texture maps. I was forced to overlap my UVs in places in order to save as much space on these texture maps as possible since I was limited to a resolution of 256x256 pixels. This number of weapons allows for more range in mechanics that we can experiment with. We have projectile weapons, such as the grenade launcher and rocket launcher, hitscan weapons such as the handguns and SMG, and multiple melee weapons to encourage close quarter action. We also have a railgun which will feature a slightly different firing mechanic that forces the player to charge up the weapon before firing. I’m very happy with how these weapons turned out and I really think they hold the classic look I was aiming to create.


I’ve also spent some time working on level design. I talked about a new level at the end of our last video but didn’t show exactly what it looked like. The first iteration had some issues that I talked about which I’ve started ironing out in the new iteration. I’ve increased the size of the basement to feature multiple entrance points and avoid the risk of the player getting trapped under the map. I’m planning on expanding this basement system more so that it becomes a big feature of the map and has access points everywhere. I’m also planning on increasing the size of the map and adding more locations for the player to explore. The current locations are, the central tower, the storage building connected to it, the shipping containers, the construction site, and the basement system. For now I’ll be filling up these areas with textured assets as the level currently looks very plain, but hopefully I’ll be able to create a few more points of interest before our deadline.


I’ve currently created two different props and this is just the beginning of my asset creation. I’ve made two different shipping container models (one open and one closed) with 3 different textures to keep some variety. I’ll arrange these in one area of the map to create a maze of containers and this will become one of my points of interest. I’ve also created a barrel model which I textured using the same method as my weapons.


[Outro] - Dan

The past couple of weeks have been very slow as the whole team has had things going on in their lives outside of college. Our final deadline is the 20th of May so we have approximately two weeks to complete this project. There is still a lot of work to finish so all of us will be focusing on completing this game. Thank you for watching this devlog, feel free to leave feedback in the comment section below or contact us through our social media which will be linked in the description.



Comments


bottom of page